Prompt for RWJ, Prompt 235

I’d just read a very thoughtful essay by a student from Trumpland. I get it. Last evening I’d watched a documentary about Trumpland. Down to Ku Klux Klan beliefs about white supremacy, it’s about beliefs isn’t it? I believe therefore I am. Everyone’s beliefs are differently shaped by their geography and circumstance. At the end of the day it’s all about survival isn’t it? Like the student who wrote the essay I hope for a middle path. Extremists on both sides of the divide represent their truths. Truths are more complicated than that. Just like the white woman who doesn’t get the women’s march, which grew so epic yesterday, is it because she is speaking from a position of privilege? Having grown up in a sanctuary, how would she know the other’s truth? Society fought for women’s rights back then, but those rights continue to be violated and is it so wrong that women, in solidarity, refuse to be silenced? If you remain in silence, then you’re complicit. Didn’t someone say that poetry doesn’t simplify these truths? Be glad for poetry–it gets a bad rap, and continue to be berated for its uselessness in a world that privileges economic truths above all else. Write about your truth, sure, but then know that it’s not somebody else’s truth. So what is truth, friends and frenemies?

2 thoughts on “Prompt for RWJ, Prompt 235

  1. Irene, I’ve not forgotten about you or your thoughtful prompts. My mind has just been bludgeoned by the hate, fear, ugliness and just plain yelling of slogans at the top of lungs. I feel kind of hopeless and numb. It is even hard to put into words what I do think truth is because it is many different things to everyone and when I try to look at all sides I just get confused. I’ll get back on board before long (I hope) but right now I need some adjustment time.

    • Truth is subjective, that is true. I feel it. But we all live in a web. Being isolationist is a strategy that’ll hurt relationships and we all end up hurt…and alienated. It feels like preaching to the same choir. Thanks Debi. There’s still about a month left of this issue. Sometimes feel like isolating myself too and not writing and then I remember, that’ll be the end of something. Something I don’t even know.

Leave a Reply

