Prompts for RWJ, Prompt 149

You know how people hold you hostage. They do. Their discourse kind of shapes your viewpoint if you hung out with them often enough. That is why you should be ever discerning about who you let into your circle. Your circle is your world. If you have a person in your circle who talks plenty, in a persuasive, intimate-like way, a sort of osmosis takes place so their view starts to blend into your own. Then you wake up one day and realize that hey, I have my own point of view and it’s different. A friend who doesn’t admit and respect another viewpoint is not worth having in your circle. Why do I talk about this stuff? Well, perhaps I do have an axe to grind. But more than that, you need to know how to choose a friend. Or why you’re the chosen one. And your choice has to be based on something more solid than liking the same fashion style, for instance, or liking someone’s make-up. That’s just one level of friendship. We all need to know who our real soul mates are.

…I need a mark, a tattoo,
etched on the arch of my foot, telling me
what to hold, clutch only what is mine.
–Aimee Nezhukumatathil, “Bee Wolf”

Write about friendship.

2 thoughts on “Prompts for RWJ, Prompt 149

  1. It rings so true; like you said maybe I too have an axe to grind … but this was just what I was thinking this morning and to read the post, felt like reading my own thoughts

    Now how do I put it in a verse 🙂

    Thank you for the posts and prompts …

Leave a Reply

