Prompts for RWJ, Prompt 123

Write a poem that’s a hide out. Or hiding something. Or having something come out of hiding. It’s Writers Digest Day 9 Prompt. What mysterious thing? I think the heart is one that hides a lot. Why is it not more straightforward? It’s like a true force of nature, the heart is. Again I’m reminded of the Catherine/Heathcliff love story. Only a character like Heathcliff would speak like this: “Catherine Earnshaw, may you not rest as long as I am living. You said I killed you–haunt me then. The murdered do haunt their murderers. I believe–I know that ghosts have wandered the earth. Be with me always–take any form–drive me mad. Only do not leave me in this abyss, where I cannot find you! Oh, God! It is unutterable! I cannot live without my life! I cannot live without my soul!” What do you make of such passion? Could you let your poem come to terms with it somehow? Include a line that you’re most afraid to say. That, serendipitously, is NaPoWriMo’s Day 9 Prompt.

Then of course, tie your poem to Red Wolf Journal’s theme: Song Of Myself.

One thought on “Prompts for RWJ, Prompt 123

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 9 – “Every Dawn You’re Surprising” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

