Prompts for Red Wolf Journal Chapter 17

Hi there,

Tired of prompts are you? I’m not really tired thinking them up but am I tired of doing them? Hmmm. In any case we’re on the home run I think. Maybe the cold is all you think about these days. I don’t know. You tell me. The Internet is a really strange place where you can engage and disengage as you will. I feel disengaged with the prompting circuit where you’re supposed to visit and give comments. No thank you. The terms of my engagement is that you write and then contribute to a thematic body of work. That’s what I’m most interested in. Collaboration.

Prompt 93: Write a poem in which you are out at sea, in a place of no name, before you make landfall. Maybe it’s a place where beauty is present only by being absent. Or where beauty is apparent but there is only absence. Sure you’ve been in a place like that.
Prompt 94: I was thinking about David Bowie’s “Lazarus”. It was released on 17 December 2015 as an advance single from his twenty-fifth studio album, Blackstar, which was released in January 2016. The music video was shot in November 2015 in a studio in the New York City borough of Brooklyn. David Bowie died on 10 January 2016. I also read news that Bowie curated posthumous albums. Basically the bloke lived out his artistic vision up to the point of death and beyond. If you’re a true artist, you ought to do that. There is no other choice. So go on, do your Lazarus poem. If you like, be inspired by the image by Francesca Woodman via Magpie Tales

 

woodman francesca

Prompt 95: There’s this quote I read: “There will come a time when you believe everything is finished.///That will be the beginning.” Louis L ‘ amour said it. I’ve no idea who he is and I am not about to find out. Instead I’ll ask you to write a poem inspired by his quote. Alright? Alright.

Prompt 96: We look upon objects as artefacts. They embody cultural meaning. Words are artefacts too. Okay, poems I’m thinking of. Have you ever wondered, considering the infinity of poems one is capable of, where the heck they come from? Is there in fact a collective unconscious as Yeats believed? That we could retrieve this pool of meaning through reading, isn’t that marvellous? How the hell are we supposed to retrieve than through reading and writing, you tell me? So reflect upon all I have said. Write, see what you’ve retrieved.

 

Prompt 97: You’ve probably recognised the title borrowing Dickinson’s line. Borrow it for yourself. Or is the word, leverage? I’ll reproduce the whole poem for your edification and imagining for your own poem. For it is this house that we inhabit, isn’t that so?

I dwell in Possibility
BY EMILY DICKINSON

I dwell in Possibility –
A fairer House than Prose –
More numerous of Windows –
Superior – for Doors –

Of Chambers as the Cedars –
Impregnable of eye –
And for an everlasting Roof
The Gambrels of the Sky –

Of Visitors – the fairest –
For Occupation – This –
The spreading wide my narrow Hands
To gather Paradise –

Prompt 98: It seems some days since I wrote. Sometimes you just feel the need for a reset button. Don’t you? Writing after all is an act of courage, and of faith, and all of which would be pointless if not for love. Lover of truth, aren’t we all? Isn’t that why you bother to read at all? So let your poem come to some point of truth. An epiphany of sorts. What, you do have epiphanies don’t you?

One thought on “Prompts for Red Wolf Journal Chapter 17

  1. Pingback: Sea of Matrimony, by Debi Swim | Red Wolf Journal

Leave a Reply

