Prompts for Red Wolf Journal Chapter 15

Hi Lovers of Poetry,

We’ve just passed the last Sunday of the year mark. On to the last week of 2015. Thought I’d like to wrap it up with the four letter word. You know, l-o-v-e. I had just flipped through Shakespeare in Love, which is a compilation of the Bard’s love poetry. It was famously the movie that made Gwyneth Paltrow famous. In it, a young Shakespeare wrestled with writer’s block while working on a new play and the cure is a creature whom he falls in love with, an aspiring actress played by Paltrow. From there on it’s no holds barred and he went on to write Romeo and Juliet. No surprise that love and creativity are yoked, right? Having writer’s block? Cure is to fall in love.

Prompt 81:  We’re still in the twelve days of Christmas of course. Remember it all started with “a partridge in a pear tree”.

“On the First day of Christmas my true love sent to me
a Partridge in a Pear Tree.”

Speculation has it that the partridge is an aphrodisiac and a pear tree being heart-shaped, this is is really a wedding song of sorts, with lots of gifting and also maids a-milking, lords a-leapin’, geese a-laying, and other shenanigans.

Following from that, please write a love poem that references at least one of the gifts.

Prompt 82: You’re still with me? I thought a little music making appropos for our poetics tonight. Truth is, a lot of you out there have vanished into the dark. Into real life, sorry. I’m right here in my garage doing my own thing. It feels like that. So the prompt is to write about the wintry dark. Or real life. Or music. Oh right. Music. I almost forgot.

Prompt 83: Smells are wonderful. If you smell something wonderful you tend to feel wonderful. Vice versa. The scented things help us along with whatever it is that is sensual about the world. And the world is terribly sensual. In other words, let your nose lead you. That’s the prompt, if you’re in need of prompting, as much as the poet in you is wanting.

Prompt 84: I’m writing from the other side … 2016. We’re all on the other side now aren’t we? I’m feeling pretty ancient since I’m listening to 60s & 70s music. Anyway that’s the best era for music isn’t it? I remember my English teacher saying how she was caught up in the Beatles fever. It came an era too early for me. So listening to music started for me in the 70s and I only really got into it in the 80s. Tracy Chapman was one of the first artistes I really paid attention to. U2. Chrissie Hynde. Alanis Morissette. So the prompt is to be music-inspired.

Prompt 85: Bruce Springsteen’s Dancing In The Dark was a hit single on his 1984 Born in the USA album. Its edgy, angsty lyrics expressed the zeitgeist of that era for me, growing up in the 80s. The prompt is to do a retrospective of some kind in your poem.

Note: This post will be verily updated till it reaches six prompts.

 

Prompt 86: Ain’t she sweet? Dated 1971. I was a mere babe then. All sweet innocence then. The years flew by and here I am, reflecting on all that went by. The lyrics are so simple and yet reflecting too.  The song’s written by Bob Dylan. It was sung by George Harrison too. Of course I didn’t know. I didn’t know a whole lotta stuff. I was all over Olivia Newton John’s sweet innocence. Then things got grittier. Like Bob Dylan’s sandpaper voice. That image via Magpie Tales is all sweet innocence too, aint’t it? That’s your prompt then: sweet innocence.

 

 

rain Wolfgang Suschitzky - Charing Cross Road, London, 1937

Charing Cross Road, 1937 by Wolfgang Suschitzky (image via Magpie Tales

Leave a Reply

