Prompts for Red Wolf Journal Chapter 13

Hi everyone,

I’ve been doing these prompts for a while now. The last I checked there’re plenty of likers on Facebook. Passive likers. So I don’t know if I’m doing any good here. I’ll keep at it for a while more, as long as the Red Wolf Journal’s Winter 2015 issue is still open for submission. As you’re old enough to know, all good things must come to an end. So that issue’s likely to be my last. These poems and prompts will keep me busy through winter. The submission deadline’s been extended to 28 February 2016. If you want your voice to be included in Red Wolf Journal, then get your poems to us. Think about all the beauty that’s in your world and talk about it in poems. That’s what these prompts are for too, to help get you writing.

Note: This post will be verily updated till it reaches six prompts.

Prompt 69: Yay Christmas knick knacks are all over the place. I love it, papier mache reindeers and all. The festive closure to the year. So you can make up your December story built around this festive feel. There’s the image via Magpie Tales to help you along. This picture reminded me of the time when I visited the Christmas market at Aix-en-Provence.

 

20151129_130731

Prompt 70: It’s not easy to write a good love poem. So this is your challenge. It would have to incorporate the dark side in it too. I mean, can one write of love without any sense of death? John Keats wrote “La Belle Dame sans Merci” addressed to his lover Fanny when he was dying of TB. He had said: “I have left no immortal work behind me – nothing to make my friends proud of my memory – but I have lov’d the principle of beauty in all things, and if I had had time I would have made myself remember’d.” How he had interpreted beauty was of course, in his famous ode: “Beauty is truth, truth beauty’ – that is all / you know on earth, and all ye need to know.”

 

Prompt 71: You know my favorite thing in the world is a boat. Row row row your boat gently down the stream. There’s this rich couple who retired to the boondocks and ran a farm. And on the farm there is a house. And around the house there is a moat. And get this: a freaking boat. This is a true story. On the farm there’re lots of banana trees and veggies. She was in fact going to set up a culinary academy cooking local produce. Her restaurant serves fig tea. Her real name is Ivy, so her restaurant is called “Poison Ivy”. Guess how I shall end this prompt. Sing with me. Merrily merrily merrily life is but a dream.

 

Prompt 72: Churchgoing spells hope. Hope for ascension. Hope for eternity. Hope for divinity. Hope is huge. Humanity is all about hope. And so your prompt is to write about church, what it stands for. If you’re not a Christian, you may write about going to a temple, or a synagogue or a mosque and what it means. I’d really like to know. Hope is a beautiful thing.

 

Prompt 73: Jeepers, the prompt is obituary. It’s hard to imagine but we all will get there someday won’t we? Death is kind of a tacky subject. Which is why we veer off it. It fills us with incredible sadness that we will all die. Every one of us is fucked. So where’s the grace in coming to terms with death? When the time comes, do we not want to go gentle into the good night? Totally at peace because we have lived well?

 

Prompt 74: These prompts are dropping like flies. That aside, this one is asking you to put your character(s) into a before/after scene. The photograph from Magpie Tales should help you to frame your poem story. I like Magpie Tales.

 

playground getty

One thought on “Prompts for Red Wolf Journal Chapter 13

Leave a Reply

