Prompts for Red Wolf Journal Chapter 9

Hello people,

Time has relentlessly brought us to Fall 2015. You’re here because you read and write poetry. I like that it’s our common currency. We speak the same language. Hehe. We’re creative beings speaking the same language. We’re speaking the same language in the process of making art. We’re making art because we’re creative beings. And so there goes our kind of loop. If you’re just yearning to get creative, there’re these prompts. You can check back on earlier posts for other prompts too. These prompts are the kickstarters for you to make art and submit to the Red Wolf Journal. The deadline for the Fall 2015 issue is 25 October 2015.

Prompt 46: Thanks to Magpie Tales, we’ve got this dreaming surreal picture. I like surrealism as much as the cat. Life is pretty surreal when you think about it. It is also goddamn practical. But if life is meant to be so practical, doesn’t it fall short in accounting for the souls that we are? We are souls aren’t we? Souls are pretty surreal that’s for sure. That’s the reason we’re practicing art and that art claims us. You’d be practicing art if you wrote a poem in answer to this piece of art.

dream-2011 Jacek Yerka (1)

Art by Jacek Yerka

Prompt 47: This is another ekphrastic prompt. I wanted another one to end this series and I looked at another of Wyeth’s paintings. I’m kind of done with these though. That’s the thing with art. It never keeps still. It wants to transform. It repeats while transforming. It transforms while repeating. What does good art do? It is a transforming process. That’s what it does and is.

andrew-wyeth-airborne-1347159404_b

Andrew Wyeth, Airborne

Prompt 48: OK I’m changing tack. I’m kinda going with referencing. In your piece, reference a line of poetry. The line, “I’ve been eating poetry”, for instance. It is borrowed from Mark Strand’s “Eating Poetry”.

Prompt 49: Hey there, so we’ve got another piece of art via Magpie Tales (cue hand-clapping). You’d be interested in what an artist has to say about art, wouldn’t you? This is what George Tooker said, “I am after painting reality impressed on the mind so hard that it returns as a dream, but I’m not after painting dreams as such, or fantasy”. Once you’ve digested what he said, write.

tooker, george self

George Tooker, Self Portrait

Prompt 50: It’s pretty dark outside. I can detect no burning scent. Although I’ve been told there’s a thick haze enveloping the city, I don’t see a thing. It’s fucking black. What do you see in Pollock’s painting? That’s what I’m interested to know. Apart from it being empirically black. Art prompt kindly provided by Magpie Tales.

pollock jackson black flowing no. 8 1951

Jackson Pollock, No. 8 Black Flowing

Prompt 51: Write a poem in which you had to climb a hill? I’m not much of a climber. But maybe one measure of age is whether you can climb still. I’ve never climbed a mountain. That’s one regret. Don’t think I ever will. Your poem can feature a mountain if you like. Just to amuse me.

6 thoughts on “Prompts for Red Wolf Journal Chapter 9

  1. Pingback: Day 6 OctPoWriMo 2015 | The Chalk Hills Journal

  2. Pingback: Of Tree’s Hollow and Dreams | Metaphors and Smiles

  3. Pingback: The Practical Freedom of Madness, by Marilyn Braendeholm | You turn toward me, your lips move, wanting to speak. --Stephen Dobyns, "Wolves In The Street"

  4. Pingback: Poetry on the Menu, by Debi Swim | You turn toward me, your lips move, wanting to speak. --Stephen Dobyns, "Wolves In The Street"

Leave a Reply

